Eat and be merry

Eat and be merry

I’ve been craving Italian for a few days so I made sure today’s lunch meeting was at Maggiano’s at Southpark.  But of course, as usual, I was running late.  Nothing new since I’m Indian but I try to be on time without fail!  So, as I’m running late I figured let’s just Valet it.  I was outta the car fast & ready to throw my keys at the Valet except he was waiting on a woman who thought the world must wait for her.  She’s carrying on a full blown conversation in her car while she’s paid the Valet & handed over the keys but outta the car she will not come.  I had finally just had to interrupt & hand my keys and dash.  What a rude woman!

When I walked in, I was greeted by friendly staff….a few too many staff members (that should’ve been my first hint).  I was there at peak time for lunch and all these staff members were just waiting around to greet moi…..hmmm.  I was quickly taken to my table, through a very empty dining room.

The waitress was very quick to get order and was very pleasant.  We gave our orders & quickly came the appetizers & lunch.  But the poor girl had put in one of the wrong orders.  The right dish was quickly brought, literally in less than 5 minutes.  And three people must’ve come by to apologize for the mistake.  Apparently the waitress was 1 week new & entered the wrong dish…. A mistake anyone could’ve made & no one complained about it at the table.  But not only did so many staff come to apologize, they even brought us dessert on the house.  All this was not needed but we were very impressed by the customer service.  I never recall this kinda service before.

Now onto the Food!  The normal bread/oil was fine.  Bread was a little cold but of course I got there late too.  The appetizer, fried zucchini, was good as I remember it!  If you’ve never had it, must try.  Fried with a little seasoning and Japan bread crumbs makes this normal vegetable delish.  The creamy sauce wasn’t the same as I remembered but good enough.  Of course, it took everything in me Not to ask for the hot sauceJ

The entrees were great!  From the four cheese ravioli, to the baked ziti, and rigatoni D.  The sauces and pasta tasted authentic, not store bought.  And of course, I always like to add a little twist when ordering to see just how good the restaurant/chef are….so I asked for the baked ziti, that normally comes with Italian sausage, to be made without any meat.  The waitress didn’t flinch and went to speak to the kitchen and quickly brought the dish back the way I asked.  Now that tells me the food is fresh.  Many times when I change up the dish, I’m told “sorry can’t, it’s pre made like that”  I don’t want premade when I come a restaurant….I want fresh.

Ahhh & the dessert….no meal is complete without dessert!   First time I tried chocolate zuccotta cake.  And as the menu touts, its served with mousse, frosting, and cocoa powder & yum it was!  Only one thing would’ve made it perfect, a nice glass of Merlot.

Pricing is average but can be a little high based on your entrée.  Some desserts can be $8-10.  There is a new light menu that’s great for those watching their calories….certainly not me;)

 

One thing though I was surprised about was the lack of guests.  The restaurant, from the time we entered & left, was empty with only a handful of diners.  Very surprising for a restaurant that was always thriving when I’ve been here in the past.  Often, I’ve had to wait 10-20 minutes to be seated at lunch and even longer at dinner.  Guess the economy has hit them too!

Leave a Reply

